Edmodo + OneNote Assessment Workflow

Pip Cleaves
3 min readJul 17, 2016

The whole universe knows of my #edulove for OneNote. Right?

Another tool we use heavily at my school is Edmodo. As a result many staff and students ask me what the difference between the two is. I see them as complimentary tools.

OneNote Class Notebook is my place for getting content to students, for giving feedback, and for supporting the learning in my classroom.

Edmodo is the place I chat with students, where I share our learning intentions and success criteria for lessons. A place to set, support and remind them about assessment tasks, and a place to share inspirational up to date blog posts and websites about content we are studying.

My assessment / project workflow involves both Edmodo an OneNote Class Notebook. Together, the two make a wonderful workflow rich with information, support and communication.

Here’s my workflow

1)Make sure all students have an Assessment / Assignment Tab in their Student OneNote Section. There are 3 ways to do this: 1) When you initially create your class notebook create an Assessment tab 2) Send an assessment tab to students using the Class Notebook Addin 3) Ask students to create a section themselves and call is Assessments / Assignments.

2) Create a page with all assessment information and send it to the student sections somehow, either via Class Notebook Addin, or in the Content Library for students to copy into their own section.

3) Set up assignment in Edmodo. Add assessment notification and reminder to read OneNote for more details. Ask students to write ‘I’m done, I’m finished’ and submit when they are done.

4) Students work in the OneNote and add their assessment work, document to the assessments tab. You should ask them to Insert > File as Printout if they complete their task is an image, word, excel, PowerPoint, pdf doc. They should just insert > file attachment for movies etc. IN the case below, students made a Sway and shared the link for their Sway in the OneNote.

5) Students submit their assignment when completed work in the OneNote.

When Marking these tasks, I use the Class Notebook Addin Tool for a super simple workflow. Check out how I do this at this blog post.

I am eagerly waiting for Edmodo and OneNote to link so I can put grades in Edmodo directly from my OneNote marking workflow.

How do you use two different platforms together? Share in the comments below.

--

--

Pip Cleaves

Associate Principal | Global Village Learning - Busy creating a community that does learning differently.